Dracula

February 26, 2010 at 11:36 pm 3 comments

It’s only funny until someone turns into a vampire. The wild eyed boy advances, pawing gingerly, then suddenly rough housing, toppling his sleepsack-clad brethren and then rolling as one with them in the crib, the laughter bordering hysteria; and then without warning the nuzzling of the head, expansion of the jaw, quick, sharp, ecstatic CHOMP, followed by the misery-laden yowls of brothers A and C. Today at a conference I learned that young children, younger than two, have the capacity to understand very complex grammatical formulations. And yet, when we say Pabs, don’t suck the blood of the brothers from whom you may one day choose to seek advice, protection or sympathy, he doesn’t so much as slow his drooling descent.

The vampyric phase is fleeting, please say it is. No amount of discipline thus far has quenched Pablito’s plasmic urges, so we are hopeful that Father Time may deliver us from this rather prickly developmental segment. Or maybe we should [insert your brilliant advice here]…

Entry filed under: advice, update.

Connecticut redux Babies, Brewing and Bedtime

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. erinclot  |  February 27, 2010 at 7:56 am

    I’ve got nothing. Half of our duo gets in a biting rut anytime teeth are about to appear on the scene- the other half walks around with bruises on his arms, hands, face and back. He laughs when we tell him to stop, he bites us when we touch his lips and say no…It’s stopped before so I know it’s going to stop again. When and for how long are the magic questions.

    Reply
  • 2. Chamberlin  |  February 27, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    I just read your contribution on the Multiples and more blog network. Thank you! My husband and I have an 18 month old daughter and are expecting triplet girls (25 weeks along). Your advice is spot on as far as sleep training goes. Your article hit on many things I am nervous about and helped me gain the perspective I needed today. Thank you again.

    Reply
  • 3. Marian, friend of Suzy  |  February 27, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    My sister was a biter. I know this sounds awful, but one day after she bit the daughter of one of my mother’s friends, my mother bit my sister. There was no more biting. I am not recommending this, just sharing my experience with a biter (yes, she bit me and I am older).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 69,928 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

