Let the exploitation begin

April 22, 2009 at 5:11 am 7 comments

So at long last I can post the premiere of Eating Babies here. I had hoped to do it yesterday, but it literally took me all day and night (including two failed attempts) to post the vid to YouTube. Here it is (w/ a little comment from me on the other side).

A couple words about this piece before you go and call social services. I actually did end up using that other blog post (All for me grog, below) as the program note. But then it occurred to me that the piece could actually benefit from a somewhat more straightforward note, which I offer here and now. Now that the whole piece is done and in the books, so to speak, its programmatic nature is clear to me. It depicts the sensations of a late night/early feeding, from beginning to end. It begins in near chaos, frenetic activity, screaming and gasping every which way, proceeds through calm, regularity, sweetness, and ultimately veers towards delirium as the late night hallucinations set in. The second half of the composition, where the baby sounds are not just present but also processed, represents the inner workings and non-workings of my mind during one of those somnabulent episodes of service.

Those of you who track my comings and goings on Facebook will note that I was able to post a somewhat longer version of the video there. This one clocks in at exactly 10:01, and how I got away with that extra second I’ll never know.

Entry filed under: artsy stuff, update, video.

Eating Babies New friends for May!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Squidocto  |  April 22, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    You’re a madman! Wonderful piece! Nice to see you’re finding ways of combining your talent with your sleep-deprived hallucinatory state.

    I’m sure you’ve already gotten a lot of this, but when’s there going to be a live version. I mean LIVE, with the babies on stage? You might have to make some room for improvisation, but…

    Reply
  • 2. Cat Anderson  |  April 23, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    begin? honey the minute you started this blog… so fantastic to listen to it here. it gave me such chills. (tried on FB and it kept cutting out–that was just oo much mayhem for me 🙂 Saw you on the BLVD running–good man. Now I want to see you running while pushing the benz. sam can ride his bike, while i push bambino in the ford. love to you and al–summer picnic season approaches.

    Reply
  • 3. Simon Neville  |  April 29, 2009 at 7:35 am

    Great piece; enjoyed listening to your new work very much.

    Reply
  • 4. Mark Piszczek  |  May 2, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    DS,
    Invariably all my musician/composer friends who have babies compose a piece dedicated to their new bundles of joy. Most of the time, these pieces (songs) are so overly sentimental that we all must suffer in silence as not to offend them and just roll our eyes in private. I can honestly say that your baby piece is the coolest, interesting and sentimentality free offering I’ve ever heard. Bravo!! I enjoyed this a great deal. The follow up piece in a year or so … a percussion ensemble with the triplets screaming and banging on their high chair trays with little spoons.
    Love, Mark

    Reply
  • 5. Charlotte & Jeff  |  May 17, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    D, I’m embarrassed that it took a vacation for me to REALLY sit down and listen to this (4 times in a row). You are brilliant! It’s a gorgeous piece—chaos, love, chaos—gorgeous. Hats off my friend. C

    Reply
  • 6. Barbara Rothenberg  |  June 3, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    May the “exploitation” continue if needbe …. this is beautiful – touching -an eloquent trumpet, and a tribute to the whole experience you and Alex are creating – with a little help from the THREE….. Thanks for the sharing …. love B

    Reply
    • 7. shnootre  |  June 7, 2009 at 6:26 pm

      So glad you liked it Barbara!
      D

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 69,928 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

