quick update

February 23, 2009 at 2:08 pm 2 comments

Hi all, 

I have neither cell phone or facebook capability here – please remember! Satch is out of surgery and all went well. I haven’t been in to see him yet, but I should be in any minute. He did have to be intubated (which has been the case for each of the boys’ surgeries) so I’m hoping that he doesn’t have more than the residual throat scratchiness (after his first surgery this lasted a LONG time), but all in all things are looking up for the yellow soldier. 

More when I can, including the traditional post-op photo. 

 

Entry filed under: update.

Mellow Yellow Do that to me one more time

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paul Winkler  |  February 23, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    I really feel for you Dan. Considering how stressed out we get when our little 5-pound kid spits up more than the day before, I can only imagine what it’s like to have three undersize babes, and have them in and out of the hospital so many times. When it’s 4 AM and we’re feeling like we can’t possibly do this any longer, I try to think of you and how pulled together you seem to be with your trio. But then, I know how different the public face of a new baby can be from the private side of it. I hope you are doing as well as you sound, I really do.

    At the same time I don’t want you to feel like you have to put on a brave facade for your audience here, because that can be a drain of its own… I know some people who are real good at that kind of thing and it’s not necessarily healthy. I’d rather have you fall apart in public and pulled together in private than vice-versa. Not that I’d wish any sort of fallapartage on anyone. Oh, flarpdaddles, you know what I mean, I hope.

    Reply
  • 2. shnootre  |  February 23, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Thanks Paul. Flarpdaddles indeed.

    Honestly, every trip into the hospital we’ve encountered babies dealing with much more serious issues than those that have troubled our boys. Perhaps it’s having navigated the perilous terrain of triplet pregnancy followed by premature birth, but whatever the case, none of this really feels so terrible. It’s scary to usher your boy into surgery, to be sure, but it helps when it’s a doc in whom you have confidence, and when it’s essentially the most performed pediatric surgery there is. I suppose when we look back at the sum total of what these boys have been through we’ll breathe a pretty big sigh that it’s all behind us. But outside of Satch’s first brush with surgery – which was gut-wrenchingly horrifying – everything else has felt pretty manageable. AND, we’ve had the tremendous good fortune to have the support of family, friends, and the denizens of this here corner of cyberspace.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  
Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 69,928 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

