Please try to understand

January 21, 2009 at 10:08 pm 7 comments

Mike K says the boys will discuss this in therapy one day...

Mike K says the boys will discuss this in therapy one day...

I did it. I’ve been thinking of doing it and talking about doing, and finally, I just did it. I recorded the boys’ 11:30 feeding last night. Set up my computer, microphones, audio interface. Threw a mic on the changing table, one over the crib. Then, when the diapering was done, I moved the mics to stereo positioning  – something like what you see here – and commenced the feed. I know you think I’m crazy but that’s what I like to do. My plan is to do various things with this recording – parse it, put it into some artsy fartsy electro-acoustic composition that documents this odd period of life – and also just keep it and listen to it sometime later on, remembering the sweetness and the urgency of all their little gasps and grunts and squawks. You can hear 10 seconds of my inauguration night here, complete with some cheap reverb.

crying-eating-boys

Levi update: We met with the surgeon today, and surgery is set for Friday around noon. That is, coincidentally, the due date for all of the boys. He’ll be back in the clink for one night only, so buy your tickets now. Hopefully the syndicate turns him loose the next morning. It is routine surgery, but surgery all the same. Just another day at Hernias ‘r’ Us.

Entry filed under: update.

Eventful day off to the clink

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Squidocto  |  January 21, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Genius!!!!

    Oy that reverb, though…

    Reply
  • 2. shnootre  |  January 22, 2009 at 12:16 am

    Oh Squid – I knew YOU of all people would hate the verb. I got some better verb around – but I like the quasi-creepy effect it adds. I’ll admit to pouring it on a little thick there though..

    Reply
  • 3. Mike Kupietz  |  January 22, 2009 at 4:06 am

    🙂

    Reply
  • 4. atlmom  |  January 22, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    So our nightly ritual now: ‘can I see the babies?’

    So you have an even bigger audience to convince. And they are quite a demanding audience. I got the ‘we saw that one already!’ tonight…

    😉

    Reply
  • 5. Squirky  |  January 22, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    Pretty cool! I actually rather like the reverb.

    Reply
  • 6. Charlotte Strick  |  January 23, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Cool Dad, I mean Dan. Very cool…

    Reply
  • 7. all for me grog « Sax & Sons  |  March 29, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    […] is – and that is to say, it’s a jumble. I am writing a piece called Eating Babies, using the sounds I recorded late night on January 20, 2009 – a somewhat historic occasion. It’s for trumpet and piano and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 70,050 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

