speaking of a lullabies, a commission of sorts

January 16, 2009 at 11:12 pm 7 comments

Hi everyone. It occurred to me reading over the comments from my last post that I may not be properly, or at least completely, utilizing this forum. I mean after all, I’m the guy who just had triplets, why do I have to do all the work? Some of my favorite musicians in the world are frequent visitors and commenters at this site. I would LOVE it if YOU would write and perform a lullaby for our boys. Seriously – mine’s just as likely to rile them up as to send them to sleep, and what’s more, three boys deserve more than just one lousy lullaby. 

So here’s my request/challenge/commission for those of you musically oriented folk. 

  • Write a lullaby for the boys (you don’t have to mention them, and if you have kids, you can tell your kids that you wrote it for THEM, ‘k?)
  • The lullaby need not have words or a vocal part (but if that’s what you do it is encouraged)
  • It does need to be new.
  • Perform the lullaby (or have someone else perform it if that’s NOT what you do) on a YouTube video – low tech is FINE!
  • Send me the link

And for this service, what can I offer in payment? Not so much. But I CAN embed your video here, where in addition to reaching a bunch of fine folks, it will become a permanent part of this special little record of the boys’ early days (which will hopefully exist long enough in some form for them to become conscious of it).

So what say you, musicisti? Hook us up and we and our clan will be eternally grateful. Draw inspiration from our funny little photos here – or from your own funny little people. Think of it as paying your way for the joy you sometimes reap from this here site (though of course, no payment is required!)

Will anyone rise to the challenge? Hard to say. I do hope so, though.

Entry filed under: artsy stuff. Tags: .

Lullabies r us roundabout

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Suzan  |  January 17, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Your kids are very lucky to have parents like you. The lullaby is great. My mom actually amade one up for my sister and me when we were babies and now I sing it to my triplets all the time, not just bedtime. It is a comfort song.

    Great family!

    Suzan and Tim
    Zoe, Ella, Aidan 8-21-2005, 24 week miracles

    Reply
  • 2. Squirky  |  January 18, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    Cool idea! I’ll give it a go… and at the rate I manage to accomplish things, you can expect a lullaby from me in about seven years!

    Reply
  • 3. shnootre  |  January 18, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Thanks Suzan – I appreciate it! That’s great that your family has a song that’s being passed down through the generations!

    Squirky – yay! No deadline here, but the boys would LOVE it if you did (w/ apologies to Paul Simon and the zoo…)

    D

    Reply
  • 4. Mary Bastoni  |  January 21, 2009 at 12:24 am

    This idea sparked my interest. So, the song is done, now I need to get a video camara to record it.Your boys are sheer inspiration!

    Reply
  • 5. shnootre  |  January 21, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Oh my goodness Mary, that’s great! Hurry and yours will be the first!!

    Reply
  • 6. mike kupietz  |  January 23, 2009 at 4:58 am

    Who do you think you’re talking to? Already in progress since December.

    Reply
  • 7. A new lullaby for the boys… « Sax & Sons  |  July 13, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    […] been away from Al and the gang for over a week now. Mary Bastoni is the first to have answered my call to write a lullaby, and she’s done a brilliant job of it. I can’t tell you what it was […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 69,928 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

