Lullabies r us

January 16, 2009 at 7:45 am 15 comments

Necessity is the mother of invention. Alex and I needed a ritualistic tune to put our boys to sleep – something we could wheel out again and again, and that they would come to understand as the signal for closing time. Never one to wait patiently for things to get done by others, Alex just started singing this tune to the boys a few nights ago. I then took the simple idea and added too many chords and made it impossible to sing, which is what I do, and we worked on the words together. Have a listen (and come on, do we bring it at Sax & Sons or what? Cuteness, lullabies, the occasional poopsegisis…what more could you ask for?)

{p.s. if you actually click on the link and watch at YouTube you have the option to watch in high quality. It doesn’t seem possible to embed the high qual though…)

Entry filed under: update, video. Tags: .

You think I’m running out of cute? Think again… speaking of a lullabies, a commission of sorts

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michelle  |  January 16, 2009 at 9:56 am

    I detect some Cat Stevens in there (I mean that as a compliment). Does the lullaby work?

    Reply
  • 2. Charlotte  |  January 16, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Dan! That’s really not a fair morning post for those of us who are sitting at our uncomfortable desks at work, and not in our warm, cozy cribs at home! I’m downright sleepy now!! Bravo! Zzzzzzzzz…

    Reply
  • 3. Nina  |  January 16, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Well that’s just plain lovely and you can bet we’ll use it to lull your little nieces to sleep as well.

    Three cheers that you’re not afraid to show the full range of life in these parts, ballerinas to bartenders. An optimal blend of sweetness and realism. They will be prepared!

    Only quibble: must you promise to awaken them at “break of day”? Surely something rhymes with “noon.” Float your little bodies to the moon? Mommy’s hugs will greet you sort of soon?

    Reply
  • 4. shnootre  |  January 16, 2009 at 11:14 am

    Thanks peeps…

    Michelle – entirely possible. In my old age all sorts of old influences are rearing their heads. I didn’t explicitly hear Cat in here, but now that you mention it it makes sense. Oddly, the influence I detect – which came entirely unbidden – is Richard Manuel (of The Band).

    Oh…does it work? Well, during one of the takes, right when I got to the part “3 little boys in their pajamas” Levi started issuing blood curdling screams from the nursery, which I opted NOT to leave in on the official version. But at other times they have been lulled to sleep by it. The problem is that it’s VERY hard to sing it w/o the accompaniment because of some of the chord changes, and it’s very hard to play guitar AND carry a baby or two to their crib at the same time. So…we’re working on it.

    Charlotte – haha…really? Then I guess it works!

    Neen – I was entirely thinking of them too (and can record a different version so that it’s “three little girls” at the end…)

    x
    d

    Reply
  • 5. shnootre  |  January 16, 2009 at 11:15 am

    p.s. love “mommy’s hugs will greet you sort of soon,” consider it rewritten.

    Reply
  • 6. Squidocto  |  January 16, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Nice song, yes yes! I must admit that those cool chord changes woke me up more than made me sleepy, but then I’m not (physically) a baby.

    Reply
  • 7. shnootre  |  January 16, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Well – w/o insts we can just sing the first part, which has only 2 chords…or even the end part, which has only 1. I still haven’t learned the art of economy…

    Reply
  • 8. Squirky  |  January 16, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    You (or someone) should totally make a companion children’s book to go along with the song, with illustrations of the wonderful imagery! (You and Alex have some spare time to illustrate a book, right? I mean, you aren’t doing much these days….) Hee. Anyway, great tune! Although if I ever had a wee one to sing it to, I would probably shorten it a bit, just because I wouldn’t be able to remember all the changes! (I’m not one to talk, because if I were ever to write my own lullaby, it would probably be so complicated that it would give my kids nightmares. I’m just saying.) But, really, great job!

    It’s so cool that you are documenting all this for when your kids are older. I’m sure they will appreciate it!

    Reply
  • 9. Stefan  |  January 16, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    nice one. love it! hope it always works. those 3 are lucky to have such creative parents!

    Reply
  • 10. shnootre  |  January 16, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Hey thanks yo. It makes me very happy that all my old music buds are on here commenting. Abola – I had the exact same thought. At least a more elaborate music video is indicated…but yeah, the ole time thing.

    Thanks to you too Shtef – well, some call it a blessing to have an artist and a musician for parents. Others…

    Reply
  • 11. Mary Eckstein  |  January 17, 2009 at 6:40 am

    Hey, remember me? I just heard about your babies!! OMG! So cool, you are DONE in one fell swoop.
    Loved the lullaby- I used to fall asleep listening to Puccini played on the piano. Babies just love music of any kind.
    I will try and be a better “viewer” than I have been.
    Beautiful, precious boys, you are so lucky
    Mary E

    Reply
  • 12. Barbara Rothenberg  |  January 19, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Lullabies – yes
    -so I was thinikng of threes and up came Wynken,Blinken and Nod (which apparently Carly Simon has recorded .)…. but I love yours Dan — ….. ….
    yours

    and All the Pretty little horses – which I used to sing to our
    David and Daniel ………..

    without a guitar.

    Love your commentary— and congratulations on your
    tenth anniversary- what an auspicious way to commemorate it

    love

    Barbara R.

    Reply
  • 13. Leah  |  January 27, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Absoutely precious. I think Emmy just fell asleep listening to it in my arms.

    Reply
  • 14. a day in the life « Sax & Sons  |  May 25, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    […] friend gifted us – and then, and you’ll think this is narcissistic of me but oh well, our lullaby “everybody’s going to sleep” four times (count em). While this music is playing, […]

    Reply
  • 15. A new lullaby for the boys… « Sax & Sons  |  July 13, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    […] Al and the gang for over a week now. Mary Bastoni is the first to have answered my call to write a lullaby, and she’s done a brilliant job of it. I can’t tell you what it was like to watch this […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 70,050 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

