Ending this day right where I started it

November 30, 2008 at 4:13 am 8 comments

Back in the NICU – special delivery. Three vials of goodness transported via Vanimal to my sleeping chickens. (I say chickens because Pablo and Satch are back under the Billy Ruben (isn’t he a punk rock star?) lights again – roasting away like Whole Foods rotisserie fowls.) I changed more diapers earlier in the day – I think I may have done five in all – and several were quite plentifully populated. In Satch’s last Pamper (if that is the singular), for instance, I found a gloriously gooey puddle of odorless meconium – both in the diaper and pasted judiciously over his hind quarters. As I gingerly bent his legs up and wiped him back to perfect, I thought, thank God Satch doesn’t have fur. Only about a week ago I was performing the same act minus the diaper on our long-haired cat Judy Johnson (Satch’s teammate in another life), and it involved wet rags, a series of combs, even almost a scissors. Then again – JJ gets himself into such messes infrequently. Still, I’ve been telling people that Alex and I got a cat for practice, and in this one instance it really proved true. I had been prepped for clearing the sludge marks off my son’s velvety skin by raking dung off my cat, and this realization fills me with calm. There is an order to things.

I am hanging out here so I can stay for the 11:00 feeding. Then I can check the temperatures of my boys and change their diapers. I am attempting to build diapering endurance, and also find glory in the land of poo. Other parents warned me that I would be able to carry on entire conversations about the stuff (they obviously don’t me know me well – Alex can attest that I was already capable of having such conversations before the troublets arrived) and indeed I can imagine this blog devolving entirely into a poop blog. Poop Blog – isn’t that a cool name for it? We could talk about measurements and color and consistency. Odor…weight – don’t forget weight (we weigh the diapers here, each additional cc of excrement a positive report on the little guys’ plumbing).

I guess in imagining parenthood, and then triplet parenthood, the truly intimidating factor looming is all the poop. Considered in isolation, poop generally scares me (though as an abstraction I find it funny). Were I forced, for instance, to labor among anonymous poop, the poop of strangers whose faces I never got to see, I think I would grow heavy hearted, and I think my work would suffer for it. It is only the advent of love, that mysterious substance that flows in at about the same time and with the same intensity as mother’s milk, that lightens the burden of all the years and years of imagined poop. Buckets, dumpsters, even mountains full of poop, absorbed by disposable diapers and shuttled to and fro, examined, discussed, evaluated, weighed, discarded, and stripped of their inherent terror by this mounting sensation, this love that would have me giddily swim the backstroke through a sea of shit for my adorable little outfield.

In any event, it’s ten minutes to feeding time – which leaves me only scant moments to proofread the above sentiments and, perhaps, think better about posting them. 

-Dan

Entry filed under: update. Tags: , , , .

Saturday report from the field More photos please!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lauri  |  November 30, 2008 at 5:17 am

    OK, if you’re going on at this length about poop, the boys must really be doing fine. I’m so glad, and I have to say that I’m getting a bit addicted to this blog. Thanks for posting daily. But more photos, please. xo

    Reply
  • 2. Robin  |  November 30, 2008 at 5:38 am

    I think you are giddy. Wonderfully so, I might add. Congratulations on all the boys, and all the poop too.
    xox

    Reply
  • 3. Squidocto  |  November 30, 2008 at 6:00 am

    So much poop! It’s only been a week, and already it’s clear that you need to get out more….

    Reply
  • 4. Kala  |  November 30, 2008 at 6:26 am

    I had the same thought as Lauri: happy to hear nothing medical on your mind. Viva la poop blog 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. shnootre  |  November 30, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Haha – yes, it’s true it’s been a reassuring few days. Still – the worry is still there just because they’re so small and have such limited immune systems. But they’re now getting fortified breast milk and they ought to start putting on some much-needed blubber soon!

    (And by the way, Lauri and Robin – we came home to find wonderful, wonderful packages from BOTH of you (official thank you to follow – but just letting you know how thrilled we were!))

    Reply
  • 6. Martin  |  November 30, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Here is a classic song dedicated to you, your sons, and their poop: http://www.spike.com/video/poop-song/2826104

    Reply
  • 7. shnootre  |  December 1, 2008 at 4:23 am

    That’s a good one Martin. There is another great Poopies song, by the late great Christopher Hume. I constructed a monument for him on my old website – and I’ve got his Poopies on the jukebox. You have to select it (no direct link).

    http://www.usm.maine.edu/~dsonenberg/Hume/Remembered.html

    Reply
  • 8. Six months later… « Sax & Sons  |  May 23, 2009 at 7:51 am

    […] a mere half year. I mean really, what did we know of anything back then? I, if you recall, was even afraid of poop! Now it is veritably my life […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 69,928 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

