Saturday report from the field

November 29, 2008 at 5:15 pm Leave a comment

A quick update here, just to let you know that I have now changed Satchel’s diaper once, and Pablo’s twice. So I have equaled – in the NICU – the sum total of diaper changings I have achieved outside of it in my lifetime. It is still a cute and joyful experience – and I think Leslie, today’s nurse, finds it particularly charming to watch my big, dumb, lumbering hands so delicately navigate the twitching limbs of my offspring. I am still able to take pleasure in the knowledge that, despite the significant advance all of my parent friends have on me in the discipline of diapering, I will soon surpass each of them both in terms of experience and technique. Of course I won’t have any choice. And of course there will come a time REAL soon when this knowledge, the knowledge of my own supremacy in the art of waste management, will provide only cold comfort. (You have to, at least, admire my confidence). Nonetheless right now the diapers are often empty, they smell creamy and sweet, they weigh nothing, and the changing of them fills me with a sense of accomplishment and goodness. Remind me of this feeling in six months, okay?

Entry filed under: update. Tags: , , , , .

Look who turned 100 yesterday Ending this day right where I started it

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 69,928 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

