The great woman speaks soon

November 22, 2008 at 2:30 pm 2 comments

To use a line made famous (in our family) by Alex’s recently departed grandmother, it is only me. I imagine anticipation grows by the hour to get an update from the source – and we’ll try not to disappoint you for too much longer. In the meantime, Captain Superfluous here with your daily update. 

Big Al slept through the night like a baby (I know because I was somehow up for a good part of it). She woke at 6 – mid-morning by hospital standards – and had an array of gentle visitors lined up. First the osteopath, who had heard Alex had some aches and pains. But before she could even minister to those, she was displaced by the mobile ultrasound technician. Say it with me people. Mobile. Ultrasound. Technician. Now, Alex doesn’t even have to leave the comfort of her own highly adjustable bed for her daily flailing-limb triple feature. The boys are still eager and active, practicing breathing, and each scoring 8 out of 8 on their biophysical reports (that’s the report that says they are breathing, writhing, flexing, beating, etc. – it apparently does not, however, incorporate blood flow into its findings). 

As for Baby B and the saga of his blood flow… things seem stable. The little guy is actually sort of twisted around towards Alex’s spine, so getting a read on his little cord is exceedingly difficult. The Doppler reading is truly a feast for the ears and eyes, I have to say. It’s kind of like a cardiogram I guess, but with dramatic whooshing sounds and fade-outs and visuals that match. The poorer the quality of the reading, in general, the more exceptional it is as a work of art, the more visceral as a little window into the outer-spacey and magical realm of the womb. If I get around to posting some multimedia bells and whistles, I will try to post a little stretch of a Doppler reading. It’s tricky balancing the composer in me with the expectant and nervous father when I behold this state of the art technology, but as you can imagine Nervous Dude generally wins out. 

Gosh – a bit of a tangent there…sorry! The boy, Boy B, is stable at latest report. There are no signs of reversal at the moment, but there is also Absence of Diastolic Flow. And man – after I did such a groovy job describing Reversal of Flow yesterday, I am just at a complete loss to tackle this one. I need to meet w/ the Doc first, she has a way of explaining these things in the language of Simple. The upshot is that no diastolic is a red flag, but not quite the burning crimson of Reversal of Flow. Alex was advised not to eat until she met with the doctor (and the poor thing, nurturer of the Collective that she is, is starved), since a C Section needs to be performed on an empty stomach (well, relatively empty, if you catch my meaning). But I don’t think said Section is going to happen today, and I’ll report back here pronto should I find out otherwise. (Um, maybe – “wait for me Docs, just have to finish this blog entry…”)

More later, if I can coax it, from the woman herself. If not today tomorrow. But let’s hope for today!

-Dan

Entry filed under: Uncategorized, update. Tags: , , , .

Happy update with bonus rambles UPDATE: C SECTION TOMORROW

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann  |  November 22, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Hi Dan! I am so glad you set this up, what a great idea. Man, is this exciting (and nerve-wracking, no doubt). I’m glad to hear B is looking better, hopefully they can hang out in there a little while longer. Give my best to the big woman.
    Love,
    Ann

    Reply
  • 2. Antonia  |  November 22, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    There is a such a great book in you Dan, you’re such a good writer. Seriously so. Come and teach my classes (unless you’re busy?). Soooo excited, and watching this space madly from 5000 miles away. Got you bookmarked.

    Much, much, much love,

    Antonia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers

November 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
Vote For Us @ TopBaby Blogs! The Best Baby Blog Directory

Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 69,928 hits

Top Clicks

  • None

